nic77e

dealing with narcolepsy, wedding planning, a law degree and some new fitness goals…

Je Comprehends..

on September 30, 2012

Many years ago, an ex boyfriend once said “God isn’t fair to girls, the first place you put weight on is where you don’t want it (like your bum and your thighs), and the first place you lose weight is where you do want it (like your boobs).”  Everyone in the room had a good little chuckle at the irony of it all.

I must confess.  I was confused.  I was about 19 at the time.  The concept of “putting on weight” had, quite frankly, not made itself known to me at that stage.  My boobs were a reasonable size (no complaints) and I fit into all my size 10 clothes with room to spare, I preferred a Size 9 jeans when I could get them.

When I was younger I was constantly asked if I had hollow legs, I ate and ate and ate.. finishing everything on my plate, and on the plates of my brothers and sisters, boyfriends, friends.. I wasn’t fussy.. if it was edible.. I would snap it up.  My favourite snack was either pizza pockets or jacket potatoes.  I’d layer the spud up with cheese, sour cream, mayonnaise and other things that make the now weight conscious me raise my eyebrows and think of calories and measurements and treadmills.

I am the Queen of “No, No, I don’t need new clothes, I’ll lose weight and fit into those jeans I haven’t worn in 2 years”.. Pre 12wbt, nothing fit, my wardrobe has been reduced to the same 4 items of stretchy dark coloured clothing on high rotation.  I’m convinced I look skinnier in black.  Most of my underwear is tight and uncomfortable, I look at some of my bras and wonder how they ever fit.  So, before starting 12wbt I reluctantly bought a new sports bra.. a size 14 much to my dismay.Image

I just put on my “new” bra… and it doesn’t fit anymore! It’s too big..!  Conundrum ! !  Do I cheer that I lost weight?  Or do I feel dismayed that my boobs have shrunk?

I finally understand what my ex was saying all those years ago.. I’ve lost weight from the one place on my body that I was happy to have as a big bouncy blubbering mess.. my BOOBS!

Hopefully my bum & thighs catch on soon…

Nx

One response to “Je Comprehends..

  1. fitlotusblossom says:

    Lol!! The same week that you’ve discovered that your boobs have gotten smaller, I’ve been feeling upset about the same thing!! It is truly unfair. The only place I don’t need to lose weight from has gotten smaller…unlike you though, while the rest of me had gotten larger, and I was down to only one pants suit and two dresses on constant rotation for work, I hadn’t had to go up a bra size…and now I’m really dismayed to discover that for the first time in years, I might need to go down a bra size 😦 while I’m really thrilled that the rest of me is shrinking too, and I’m really excited that I can now fit into most of my work clothes again, I’m really not at all happy about my shrinking bust. I’ll be keeping fingers crossed for both of us that our bums and thighs catch on to the weight loss (and that there are no further drop in bra sizes for us!).

Leave a Reply

