nic77e

dealing with narcolepsy, wedding planning, a law degree and some new fitness goals…

12wbt blogger challenge #1

on September 13, 2012

1. Describe yourself in less than fifty words. What is it you want us to know about you? (Of course if you need more than fifty words, consider using a picture)

I turned 30 this year and am half way through my law degree.  I turned my life upside down 2 years ago when I decided to “gamble everything for love” and move back to Australia from London after meeting my wonderful boyfriend (now fiancé).  I have recently been diagnosed with narcolepsy so my blog documents me coming to terms with that whilst also following my 12wbt journey.

2. This program is called a transformation. When you signed up for this round (whether is your ninth round, first round or somewhere in between) what was it about yourself you wanted to transform?

Over the last few years I have become increasingly tired during the day.  I now understand that this has largely been because of narcolepsy.  I  have slowly but surely done less and less exercise as each day I felt more zapped and lethargic.  I started the program weighing in at just under 80 kilos.  My goal is to get back to 63 kilos and to become more active generally to improve my health and the way my body deals with narcolepsy as well as being a happier person on a day to day basis.

3. One of the phrases Michelle Bridges says that has struck a chord with me is that we should be striving to be the best version of ourselves. To me that means we don’t have to change ourselves completely in order to have a successful transformation. What is it about yourself you are happy with right now? It can be related to your mind, body or soul, and of course there may well be more than one thing you are happy with.

I love generously and stand by my convictions.  I am determined and driven and love life.

4. What aspect of this program do you think will present you with the toughest challenge. What are you going to focus on to ensure you feel successful at the end of the twelve weeks? How is your answer to number 3 going to help you overcome this challenge?

Burpees!

Image

I really honestly think they are evil.  I feel heavy and horrible when I do them and often come up with very creative ways to get out of them.  I’d also much rather do cardio than tone, but I know toning is important.  So, my challenge will be to JFDI when it comes to those exercises I don’t wanna do.

I have great motivation this round, I am getting married in June next year in Koh Samui, trying on wedding dresses the week after the round finishes.  Nothing like the biggest day of your life to spur you on!

Always in the background is a desire to improve my lifestyle generally and to be able to explore ways that a PWN (person with narcolepsy) can still life a full and productive life to help other people who are living with the same condition.

I think my determination (and my stubborn side) and love of life will help me achieve my goals.

5. What is it you look forward to the most in the next twelve weeks?

Making new friends, achieving my goals, all those little “wow” moments where you are proud of the little things, the running a bit harder or faster or doing more pushups than you did the week before.

6. You’ve now completed at least three days of the program. What has surprised you the most about how you’ve coped with any challenges so far in the twelve weeks?

Ok so I’m a little late in getting this blogging challenge completed – it is now Week 3 (as opposed to Day 3!) So far I’ve been impressed with my ability to say no to temptation  food moments, especially to things I love like cheese!  And I have been surprised by my motivation skills, kicking the butts of new 12wbt friends.  I just need to kick my own butt more often!

7. Can you describe what you want to see, think and feel when you look in the mirror on Sunday 18th November 2012.

Conveniently the end of this round co-incides with the end of Uni exams for the year.  So, I’ll be smiling because I only have a year to go of my degree.  I’d like to see a happier, more awake me!  Looking better than I have in years in my bikini! I want to think: I can see this girl looking fabulous in a wedding dress in 6 months time!

One response to “12wbt blogger challenge #1

  1. Heather says:

    Burpees really are evil. That much is certain. Really enjoying your blog so far and can’t wait to read more!

Leave a Reply

