nic77e

dealing with narcolepsy, wedding planning, a law degree and some new fitness goals…

The simple things

on September 5, 2012

Hello hello!

So much to fill you in on.  Ok, so… today I received the very difficult “stay awake” test, I knew it wouldn’t be good.   By the fourth and final “40 minute wall staring exercise” the sleep technician and I were having a bit of a laugh about it all, I was nodding off all over the place.  I received the results today, the official assessment is “impaired wakefulness” I’m no expert but judging from this report I won’t be driving without medication anytime soon.

The results are summarised below:Image

Basically, there were microsleeps present in all 4 of the wakefulness test periods, but you can see from the above that I didn’t go into sleep latency in the first test period, but did do so relatively quickly in the remaining 3 tests.  Sleep latency is basically the time it takes you to fall asleep.

So, the test was a little depressing, but the upside of the test was that yesterday I was able to finally start the medication.

I honestly have no words to describe how fabulous it feels to be “normal” again.  Yesterday my lecture started at 8am, usually I can make it through about 30 minutes before I really start drifting off and losing focus.  Not yesterday, I was alert, on the ball, listening, taking it in, making notes, paying attention, for the whole two hours.  I just cannot explain how that makes me feel.  I kind of want to do cartwheels or something, but instead I’m walking around with a big smile on my face.  I stayed awake until 11pm, went to dinner with friends, almost finished my assignment.. cleaned the bedroom up, vacuumed, you know.. just functioned..!

It just goes to show you that it really is the simple things in life that matter.  Being able to go to class and take in what is being said without having to come home and go through the whole lecture again via recording.  What a feeling!  In case it isn’t coming across, I’m rather elated!

Downsides to the medication are a strange metallic taste in my mouth, and a decrease in appetite (although, at the moment with my weight loss goals I am not really putting that in the downside category!), I’m also incredibly thirsty.  Other than that, I feel fantastic.

I just got back from taking the dog for a run.  I think she must have read my last post.  Because today it was me running in front looking back to see if she was ok!  I think perhaps it was a bit hot for her today (that combined with my bouncy energy) I had to walk home because the poor little thing couldn’t keep up with me.  Perhaps tomorrow I’ll run a bit earlier in the morning so its not so warm.

I will say these last few days my schedule has been a little out of whack as I had the sleep study on Monday and my assessment was today.  Good news is the assessment went really well, and I think I will get a great mark.

I’ve booked flights to go down to Melbourne with my sisters to try on wedding dresses on the 1st of December, so that is a great goal on the horizon to aim for.  All in all, things are looking up!

Nx

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TcglnY_xGfc

Leave a Reply

